August 9, 2008

  • Dear misspell-ers around the world…

    ALOT is not a word. I do not know what it means, as it is not in a dictionary. If you mean to say that there is a great quantity of something, you would use two words, a lot. Also, wikipedia is not a substitute for learned knowledge.

    Furthermore, I do not understand the rampant use of abbreviations and purposeful misspellings. Please act like you have at least an elementary grasp of the English language.

    Thank you. That is all.

    P.S. Lawl. Iz onlee kddng? Kthxbai.

Comments (12)

  • Woo! I heart the English language :)

  • One of the few misspellings i never make

    alot the closest word would be allot

    to divide or distribute by share or portion; distribute or parcel out; apportion

  • My big thing is grammar.  “If I WERE there”.  Not was.  Subjunctive.  You hear that everywhere.  

  • alot ez kewl!! omgjk.

    Hahaha. Had to do it. :)

  • Thankfully, MY grammatical and spelling mistakes are far and few between.

    Hee hee hee.

  • *Looks back at an older post here.*  Well, I at least SEPARATED a and lot. *shrug* I think there needs to be a spell check for comments as well as posts. That would solve everything.:)

  • @Kecharagrl - I know, I’m up on my high horse (again), but seriously it’s not about occasional typos but constant misspelling.  Oi vey!  I agree, there should be spell check for comments!

  • Hey folks. Guess what? There IS a spell check for comments. At least when I make comments, misspelled words are  underlined in red and I can right-click them to get suggested corrections.

  • @bill_onesty - I don’t have a right-click, but misspelled words are underlined in red for me.

  • hmmm, I wonder what is the difference? You think the spell checker is specific to a browser?

  • thanx alot fer leting me no. 

    hahahaha  

           

  • Bill : RYC .. wow you’re right ! I never paid that much attention to it I guess.

    Lesanne: I don’t like it when people misspell words either. It’s a pet peeve of mine. I correct my husband a little TOO much in his opinion. But English was my favorite subject in school. I am much, MUCH better now. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *