August 6, 2008

  • Not only did God command us not to steal, but I’m pretty sure it’s against the law as well.

    Back in Ought-Three, my sister rented a storage unit to store her belongings while she was working/living in India. The rental has remained in her name ever since and our family has used it to store various things along the way. It’s most recent contents were most of my belongings from my dorm room freshman year, a rolltop desk of my sister’s, and various textbooks/notes of my mother’s from her graduate days. We’ve never been very good at remembering to pay the bill on time or even the gate code, so we’ve had numerous lockouts and threats of auctions but we’ve always retained our property.

    Until today.

    My mom took me over to the unit because it had been in lien (yet again). We were going to buy a new lock and get some of the things from my dorm room, especially bedding, because it was all cute and pink and I thought it would look simply smashing in my daughter’s bedroom. We bought a new lock, they took us over to the unit, removed the company locks, I waited while the employee when to get wire cutters to remove the tag, blah blah blah. She opens the garage-style door and nothing. It’s completely empty except for the cut lock that they removed.

    “So, where’s my stuff?”

    About a week ago there was a number of break ins in that complex, all in the same building (mine!) and needless to say, my crap was stolen. The property manager showed me the video from break in while we waited for the cops and there in the back of one of the getaway cars was my sister’s rolltop desk. Of course we didn’t have any insurance to cover it. What really stings is that it wasn’t valuable stuff, not monetarily speaking anyway. This isn’t the first time that we’ve had something stolen from us and it just sucks. It makes you feel violated and vulnerable all in the worst way. I’m not worried about being compensated or anything like that and I realized that in the grand scheme of things, it was low on the radar of bad situations but why me? We got back to Phoenix very early in May and since then I have wanted to go get stuff from the unit. I didn’t have a gate-key and my name wasn’t on the lease so I was waiting for my sister to take me over there and she had no intention of going. I just feel stupid. I will never understand why people commit crimes. What drives a person to do something so depraved?

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *