June 19, 2008

  • i know, i know…

    i know that like, a bunch of time and space has elapsed since last i wrote, but i’m going to act like it was yesterday. because, i don’t really have the words to recap the last month or so. and so, in moving forward, we stretch and mold ourselves into different people. we are constantly growing and (hopefully) learning about ourselves and the world around us. this is not an easy process, in fact, saying that it is the complete opposite would be an understatement.

    my daughter is two. i am blown away by how rapidly she is developing and yet completely heartbroken at having lost my baby. her birthday party is this sunday and i hope i don’t get emotional.

    i have gone back to work. nothing too exciting, i’m working in a safeway starbucks and have just realized how completely inept i am at even remembering what the people are ordering. though, the term ‘starbuck’ refers to a coffee-loving character in melville’s moby dick. who knew?

    our much anticipated economic stimulus check arrived just in time to pay our bills. i don’t know how much it helped the economy but it did help me.

    times are hard. it’s hard to feel your heart breaking and not now how to mend it.

Comments (9)

  • hey, cool, you’re back. Neat about the Starbucks thing. congrats on the stimulus check!

  • It sounds like there are good things and unfortunate things alike going on in your life… I’m glad for the one and sorry about the other.

    Like Vault, I’m happy to see you again! Welcome back!

  • Welcome back…..hope things improve for you quickly and that you get settled into your new lives without too much difficulty.  Happy Birthday to your little 2 year old!

  • Good to hear from ya!  I was wondering where you’d gone to…

    “it’s hard to feel your heart breaking and not now how to mend it.”

    *raises coffee mug* I SO hear that…

  • My prayers are with you and your family <3.

  • Dear Lesley Anne,

    I came over here to thank you for leaving a comment on my blog the other day, but you hadn’t posted a new entry in a long while.

    So now you have, and I’ll comment.

    First, thanks for the visit. Second, I went to a Starbucks exactly once and couldn’t figure out what to order even, so remembering all the different options must be difficult for those who work there. I know of the character Starbuck in Moby Dick, but he was the mate on the Pequod, and I don’t remember any mention of his “love of coffee”. The coffee chain was named for him. There was also a Starbuck on the old Battlestar Galactica series in the 80s, but I don’t remember him drinking coffee either.

    Before you know it your daughter will be graduating from school!

    Michael F.Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • RE: “my daughter is two. i am blown away by how rapidly she is developing and yet completely heartbroken at having lost my baby. her birthday party is this sunday and i hope i don’t get emotional.

    It makes you think about those commercials about Nationwide insurance (Life comes at you fast…), doesn’t it??

    Welcome back to Xanga.  You were missed.

  • welcome back. :)  

  • ‘times are hard. it’s hard to feel your heart breaking and not now how to mend it’

    I swear we’re connected at the butt, I so second that sentence.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *