May 2, 2008

  • Just a suggestion…

    If you haven’t read ABF’s blog entitled New Feature Proposal you should probably head over there and do so, now.

    I’ve heard rumors that there are changes in the works concerning how content gets featured and I think that’s great. I think that most of can agree that it needs an overhaul. I just wanted to throw in my two cents, because well, it’s my blog and I’ll cry if I want to, and see what you thought. Or, I could be totally honest and tell you that I don’t really care but I thought I would ask out of politeness because I’m really scared of Judith Martin.

    If featured content were to be influenced by “recommends” (and I’m not saying it should or shouldn’t be), I think that there should be a way of un-recommending or condemning (as you will) posts. You can choose to leave a comment with no eprops and you can choose to give only one star to a post but when it comes to recommends, there is no negative feedback. Now, I have thought about that. You know when you tell someone, “oh, don’t look now” that the very first thing they are going to do is turn around and full on gape (you know, with mouth wide open) at whatever you were referring to. So, you can’t expect the system to work that way.

    lesannejenk didn’t recommend fullmetalbunny’s post: Rumble in the McDonald’s, which i totally did, you can go check for yourself.

    You know, to be honest, this post has gone an entirely different way that I thought it would. And now I can understand the dilemma when it comes to “selecting the right content”. So, thank you Xanga Team for doing your best. You can’t make everyone happy but it does seem like you guys are trying.

Comments (20)

  • I guess my only concern regarding “condemnings” is that they might be abused by the same people who like to downstar popular posts, and by trolls who like to cause trouble.

    …And I admit my number-one concern regarding featured posts is how many of them have awful, impossible-to-deal-with layouts…

  • Yah we actually launched recommend as a potential substitute for Featured Content… so we’re looking into that now.

    Wow, something nice about the Xanga Team!  I am touched…

  • Great post, though! Thoughtful. And I’m not saying that because of the recommend. I just like creative and polite ideas regarding how Xanga can be improved. I want chatboards for blogrings, myself.

  • @fullmetalbunny - I like the name though: “condemning”.

    What if we called it, “Damn this Post to Xanga Hell”.  Would that be offensive?  We’d only be referring to Xanga Hell not to actual Hell – that would be presumptuous.

  • @john - Wahahaha! You’re in fine form tonight, John! =:D

  • @john - do it! do it!

  • I love Nori (ABF). She’s hilarious.

    Oh! Congrats! You won the contest on my beer post, it was indeed the Czech!

    Here’s your mini!

  • I think they do a great job too,good post!
    Thanks for recommending my silly one!

  • @john - I am on of your biggest fans,I am so glad to see good things about the Xangateam posted,you guys take a lot of shit so when I see good things I recommend it.

  • @seedsower - your post about recycled underwear really made me giggle.  thanks for the recommend!

  • @john - I sort of like that one

    honestly, I’m not sure about the condemn feature…I’m not sure I see the point except to be ugly. sometimes people rant and rave and bad publicity is better than none-why give into that? I think we should take the high road.I think the xangateam is doing a wonderful job..it just takes time to get all bugs worked out. All I ask is we not end up like myspace or facebook.

  • @k8tthelate - i know what you’re saying about bad publicity–we all know how effective it can be, just look at the magazines at the check-out counters of grocery stores!  i’m sure that the xanga team has something up their sleeve, so i’m not worried.

  • I think your idea of giving Xangans the free will to give negative fact is pretty interesting, and one that I have not heard yet. Very good, and honest opinion.

  • Dear Lesley Anne,

    For the four years I’ve been here on Xanga, there has always been griping about “featured content”. I think that anyone who looks hard enough can find content they really like. I’ve never been disappointed.

    But then I always respond more as a “content provider” than someone looking for new blogs or content. I admit I troll the starred pages, and have an eye on the “top five” featured posts. My videos always seem to get to the top of the starred pages eventually, and I’ve been “featured” both on the “new” and the “old” system a number of times. So usually I’m looking to see if my own blog posts are on the front pages, which is a bit conceited, perhaps, but I like the exposure.

    In my opinion, there are almost too many ways to recognize content for the average blogger. I’ve known people who have been blogging here for years, and are a bit frazzled by the choices there are now. Personally, I usually give five stars to any entry I read and enjoy, and if I think that the people who are subscribed to my blog should read an entry I’m reading, I will recommend, but I use this recognition device sparingly, for only excellent posts.

    Does anyone do the “star academy” thing anymore?

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • yeah its just a thought though ;]

  • @john - I think if you are going to have “condemning” though, it should work as it’s own seperate scale so as not to be used like down-starring.  Speaking of which, the down-starring could also be fixed by either listing who gave how many stars (as social accountability would take control and all would see who ‘downstarred’) OR by having the star-rating go by a star COUNT rather than competing ratings.  That way voting one star would still be adding a star and thus eliminate the problem.  just my initial thoughts anyway.

  • so, so quiet on your end… 

  • passby=)
    nice to meet u

  • I’m hoping your move went well. Where are youuuuuuu?!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *