Month: October 2008

  • Mid-America

    I’m sitting here in the passenger seat of my mother’s Toyota Camry, some 100 miles outside of Colby, KS. So far, it’s been an interesting trip. I’ve been to at least a dozen different Starbucks and am ashamed to even think about how much caffeine I’ve consumed in the last few days. Hell, I had two (yes, one, 2) iced quad grande americanos today. And I was disappointed when I didn’t feel a thing. I have a sinus infection and the whole right side of my face hurts, not to mention the strange colors I’ve been seeing in my tissues after blowing my nose. Not that you wanted to know, but seriously it feels like some of my teeth are going to fall out. If only that would make me feel better. I have to say that I’m so grateful for my Blackberry, without it I would surely lose my mind. So far, we’ve been through Dayton, Indianapolis, St. Louis (which I drove through last time with my husband) and now I’ve seen Kansas City and Topeka – I was tempted to go and see the Brown v Board historical sight. You know, just for funsies. There are a whole bunch of other cities, but seriously, I forget pretty easily. I’m trying to think if we saw anything note-worthy in Illnois, but I don’t know that we even stopped there either time. I have to say that Kansas has been a lot more enjoyable to drive through than Oklahoma. I had wanted to go south from Cinnci and drive through Louisville (lu-ah-vull) but my mother likes to ruin all my fun. I’m hoping to stop and see the Grand Canyon before we make it home. I haven’t been there in years and it really is amazing. Before I run rampant with my thought train, I will end here and save some for later, when I will undoubtedly be lacking in inspiration. Maybe I will take it easy on the caffeine, but then again, maybe not. Take it easy.