January 19, 2009

  • Turn it around, we all need somebody.

    I’m not happy with life right now, personally, professionally, morally… Obviously, my own little slice of undetermined happiness is what concerns me the most, but on a national scale, I can’t say that I’m all that thrilled. Am I bothered by the impending inauguration? Not really, it’s too cliche to be concerned about a black man condemning all of us to third-world hell (which, I’m pretty sure “third-world” is not PC anymore). I’m happy that we are seeing the end of one political era and moving into another that has the promise of liberal revolution. Not that it will be on par with any revolution since, the seventies, but in a way, it will do us good. Any time we’ve suffered economic downturns coupled with epic losses on the feel-good scale, we’ve opted to switch political camps and pull as far away from the nasty right or left wing regime that brought us there. History repeats itself, sometimes we learn.

    When money hits us hard upside the head, we hit back, and usually with major losses in the morality department. Suddenly, it’s a dog-eat-dog world where we would stick a knife in our lover’s back if it means just a little more security.

    What am I saying? That we should think about someone other than ourselves. And I don’t mean because we’ve been spun heartbreaking sob stories about personal loss and needing enough money to pay the bills. In this era, we are predominately middle-class. We all have bills to pay. We all suffer through loss and desolation. We should open our hearts and not worry about what we stand to gain. That always seems to be a gigantic motivator, doesn’t it? When was the last time we put personal gain out of our realm of consciousness?

    I’m not talking about charity. I’m talking about empathy. Ask someone how they are doing and actually care about the answer. Sometimes, you really can affect a stranger’s life by showing an interest, even if only for five minutes. We are not going to turn our problems around by trying to save our own necks. We make matters worse, we alienate people, we turn nasty and scrooge-like. I risk falling off my soapbox here any minute, so I will quietly fade into the background. All I’m suggesting is a return of the conscience. Let it be your guide.

Comments (3)

  • “promise of a liberal revolution”…

    this is bothersome.

  • @NightCometh - It’s all talk.  Everyone wants us to believe that drastic changes will come, but looking over the last 20 years, there hasn’t been a precedent for drastic.  This however, goes completely over the head of the point I was trying to make.  A near miss, I’m sure.

  • welcome.  enjoy.  happy posting. You’re 7 desu!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *